March 30, 2017
Did Your Spring Break Fun Take a Terrible Turn?
Weeks of spring break build-up can come crashing down with an arrest for DUI, DWI, MIP, public intoxication, or drug possession. Being charged with any of these offenses doesn’t guarantee that you will face serious repercussions but it is very likely.
In almost 25 percent of car accidents, the party at fault was underage and intoxicated. There is never an excuse for driving under the influence of any substance and judges are not lenient in this area. These cases are highly fact specific, especially if they involve traffic accidents, hit-and-run, vehicular manslaughter, felony murder, and child endangerment because they will have multiple other charges on top of drink/drug driving.
Possession of a Substance
Illegal possession of a controlled substance is bad no matter what, but every state has different laws. These don’t include any charge extremely severe consequences that could result from bringing drugs over international or state lines.
Kansas divides CDS into five “Schedules”. Schedule I are the most dangerous drugs which have no recognized medical value as well as a high probability of abuse and addiction. Schedules II, III, IV, and V decrease in danger and probability of abuse while increasing in recognized medical uses.
In Missouri, it is a class C felony to possess CDS without a valid medical prescription. The penalties for possession include a fine of up to $5,000; and either up to a year in jail or, at the sentencing judge’s discretion, at least two (and up to seven) years in prison.
Find a Trustworthy Attorney
It is important to seek the help of a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible, whether you are under investigation or have already been charged with a crime. In order to prevent any incrimination and protect your rights before your lawyer arrives, don’t agree to speak to the police.