August 29, 2013
DUI: Increasing Charges During the NFL Offseason
During offseason, more and more NFL (National Football League) players are facing DUI (driving under the influence) charges. These athletes’ personal lives are highly publicized, making it hard to hide charges of this nature. Whether you are a famous figure or not, getting charged with a DUI is a serious offense, and it is not something that should be taken lightly. So, just how serious is this growing problem? For a league that prides itself on fitness and performance, it seems that DUI charges are on the rise in the NFL.
DUI Charges on the Rise in NFL
Since just last year’s Super Bowl, the NFL has had 31 players get arrested for an array of crimes including: homicide, DUI and DWI (driving while intoxicated), possession of marijuana, street racing, and aggravated assault. Of the 31 players who were arrested, ten were charged with a DUI. Although this may seem like a shocking number, it is important to remember that this is only a fraction of the NFL roster. So, just who was charged with a DUI?
NFL Players Charged with a DUI:
Al Netter, San Francisco 49ers
Trumaine Johnson, St. Louis Rams
Brandon Barden , Tennessee Titans
Armonty Bryant, Cleveland Browns
Titus Young, Free Agent (two-time offender in one-month period)
Alfonzo Dennard, New England Patriots
Eric Wright, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Quintin Saulsberry – Denver Broncos
Joe Morgan – New Orleans Saints
Evan Rodriguez – Chicago Bears
Getting charged with a DUI is a serious offense, even for professional athletes. Although a number of these convictions have resulted in different outcomes, it is important to understand the serious impact these charges can have on your life. For some of these players, acquiring a DUI resulted in getting cut for the season (Evan Rodriguez), and for others, the charges were dropped. The point is that a DUI can result in major penalties off of the football field, too.
Missouri DUI Penalties
In the state of Missouri, a DUI conviction can result in costly fines, loss of driving privileges, and even jail time. To understand the gravity of these consequences, consider the following penalties a first-time offender in the state of Missouri could procure. An offender could face up to six months in jail, 500 dollars in fines (excluding lawyer fees), and a 30-day full driver’s license suspension followed by an additional 60-day restricted license. And if that sounds bad, be warned that the penalties get far worse for recurring offenders. When it comes to driving under the influence, play it safe and just don’t do it!
If you have been charged with a DUI and you need legal representation, contact Daniel C. Miller Attorney, your local Missouri DUI lawyer, at (816) 875-0470 today.